Debt and Budget Negotiations Result in a 2014 Budget Conference Committee

October 23, 2013

Last week lawmakers struck a deal to reopen the government and extend the country’s debt ceiling. The deal funds the government through January 15, 2014 and extends the debt limit until February 7, 2014. As part of the deal a joint conference committee of 7 House members and 22 Senators was formed. The committee has until mid-December to construct a 2014 budget. See below the full list of the Members on this committee:

House Republicans
Rep. Paul Ryan (R/WI-01)
Rep. Tom Cole (R/OK-04)
Rep. Tom Price (R/GA-06)
Rep. Diane Black (R/TN-06)

House Democrats
Rep. James Clyburn (D/SC-06)
Rep. Chris Van Hollen (D/MD-08)
Rep. Nita Lowey (D/NY-17)

Senate Republicans
Sen. Jeff Sessions (R/AL)
Sen. Charles Grassley (R/IA)
Sen. Mike Enzi (R/WY)
Sen. Mike Crapo (R/ID)
Sen. Lindsey Graham (R/SC)
Sen. Rob Portman (R/OH)
Sen. Pat Toomey (R/PA)
Sen. Ron Johnson (R/WI)
Sen. Kelly Ayotte (R/NH)
Sen. Roger Wicker (R/MS)

From Senate Democratic Caucus
Sen. Patty Murray (D/WA)
Sen. Ron Wyden (D/OR)
Sen. Bill Nelson (D/FL)
Sen. Debbie Stabenow (D/MI)
Sen. Bernie Sanders (I/VT)
Sen. Sheldon Whitehouse (D/RI)
Sen. Mark Warner (D/VA)
Sen. Jeff Merkley (D/VA)
Sen. Chris Coons (D/DE)
Sen. Tammy Baldwin (D/WI)
Sen. Tim Kaine (D/VA)
Sen. Angus King (I/ME)